North Sails: News Details


51st Folkboat Gold Cup

Markus Koy

Co Sponsored by North Sails One Design

Last Saturday the last race was held for the Folkboat Gold Cup, in which the already clearly leading crew DEN 873 was able to keep its leadership and thus become winner of the championship.

With overcast skies and in the meantime up to 5 Bft winds from the west the start of the sixth race took place at 11:05 h. After a general recall, black Flack was set with the following  starting gun at 11:15. All boats were now clear of the starting line. The race was held in significant windshifts and strength differences.

The award ceremony was at 19.30 h, with the participation of all sailors, the helpers from the Event and Race Organisation and guests had a wonderful evening in a marquee in the grounds of NYC.

The first chairman of the NYC Hans Schwardt  and the NFIA chairman Stefan Rosehr held the keynote speech. Thanks was given to the entire organizing team for their hard work before and during the Event, to the Race Director Hans-Herbert Hoffmann (NRV) for his outstanding work and the Jury, which had to deal with only a single protest.

The prices were awarded by the mayor’s wife of Timmendorfer Beach - Niendorf Ostsee Hatice Kara and the head of the organization Gold Cup 2013, Peter Christian Rosehr.

The 15 top-ranked boats and their crews got engraved "glass prices" and certificates for participation in the 51st GOLD CUP. the present former GOLD CUP winner, drank to the winner Kästel Soren and his team with sparkling wine from the GOLPOKAL!

At the end it came to the distribution of 255 raffle winnings, totaling over 7,000 euros. The main prize - Lot 222 - went to Paul Stübecke of GER 1010 "Blue Mouse". He received a brand new NORTH SAILS Jib, value of almost 1,000 euros for his Folkeboot.

The event ended with a great fireworks and great results for North Sails.

North Results
1. DEN 873 Cirkeline Kæstel, Søren HS

2. GER 466 Paula Furthmann, Walther YCS

4. GER 417 Till Breitenbach, Jürgen SVS

5. DEN 1120 Idefix Jørgensen, Per KSK

6. DEN 926 Geppeline Buch, Per KS

8. GER 739 Ylva Kipcke, Ulf KYC

9. GER 731 Positiv Rosehr, Stefan NYC

10. GER 645 Second Hand Blank, Andreas SCG