North Sails RESOURCES

J/111 Tuning Guide

  • Last Updated: July 10, 2019
  • Print Friendly, PDF & Email

See also: J/111 European Tuning Guide

NORTH SAILS J/111 QUICK TUNING CHART

Wind Strength Jib Asym Mast Butt Headstay Verticals/Uppers D1s/Lowers D2s/Intermediates Sheet Angle/In-haul Traveller Car Vang
0-6 Knots LM 1.5A     -6 -2 Handrail All Up Off
6-8 Knots LM 1.5A     -4 -1 1.5″ – 2″ inside handrail 18″ Up Off
BASE 9-11 Knots LM 1.5A  44.3 cm  2.22M Arc 15.3M “pin-pin” 62 Units RT-10 Loos gauge 28 Units RT-10 Loos gauge 27 Units PT-2 Loos gauge Handrail 4″ Up Off
12-15 Knots MH 2A     5 1.5 Handrail Centerline Off
16-20 Knots MH 2A     9 3 1/2 way handrail track Centerline On Hard
20+ Knots HWJ 2A     14 5 1/2 way handrail track. “Twisty” sheet load Centerline On Hard
24+ Knots     Track, no in-hauler

 

Class Experts

Seadon Wijsen

San Francisco, California
seadon.wijsen@northsails.com

Perry Lewis

Chicago, Illinois
West Town Chicago, Illinois
Perry.Lewis@northsails.com

Jeremy Smart

Gosport, United Kingdom
Manufacturing – Gosport, UK
Jeremy.Smart@northsails.com

Jack Orr

Milford, Connecticut
Jack.Orr@northsails.com

Will Welles

Portsmouth, Rhode Island
will.welles@northsails.com

Shane Hughes

Myrtleville, Ireland
Wicklow, Ireland
shane.hughes@northsails.com

Eric Doyle

San Diego, California
eric.doyle@northsails.com