North Sails LOFT NEWS

juillet 25, 2019


J-Cup 2019 Brought Fierce Competition

J/70 and J-Cup Winners: Eat, Sleep, J, Repeat 📸 Shaun Roster

With 60 boats coming together for the annual Landsail Tyres J-Cup, as always, the event did not disappoint.

Open to all J/Boats, the Solent hosted both One Design and IRC racing for competitors from Great Britain, France, the Netherlands and the United States. Conditions were certainly exciting for the teams, with the wind building as the event went on and peaking on the last day at 25 knots.

In the J/70 Class, Paul Ward’s Eat, Sleep, J, Repeat won seven of the nine races, not only winning the class but also earning the overall J-Cup for exceptional performance – the first time the prestigious award has been given to a J/70. Amongst the crew were J/70 Class Experts Ruairidh Scott (Main Trimmer) and Charlie Cumbley (Tactician). At the prize giving, skipper Paul Ward said a few words:

“I am shocked, this is totally unexpected! A big thank you to Paul Heys. All of us here wish he was still around and like many of us, he has helped enormously with my sailing. A big thank you to the Eat, Sleep, J, Repeat team; Charlie, Ruairidh, and Mario.”

Winning the Large IRC Class was Davanti Tyres, not for the first time having won their class for three years in a row at the J-Cup. Powered by North Sails, they shone on the last day gaining three bullets.

The J/109 fleet had a healthy 11 entries with competition particularly fierce between Jukebox, Jubilee and Jiraffe. The last day was the decider and after Jukebox delivered two firsts when it mattered most, it was them who earned the title, also being crowned National Champions.

Congratulations to all North clients for winning six out of the seven classes after some exhilarating racing.

J/70 Class Winners: Eat, Sleep, J, Repeat 📸 Shaun Roster
J/92 Class Winners: Upstart 📸 Tim Wright
J/111 Class Winners: McFly 📸 Tim Wright
J/109 Class Winners: Jukebox 📸 Tim Wright
J/88 Class Winners: J-Dream 📸 Tim Wright
Large IRC Class Winners: Davanti Tyres 📸 Tim Wright
Small IRC Second Place: Jet 📸 Tim Wright


J-Cup 2019
First Eat, Sleep, J, Repeat / Paul Ward
Second Brutus / Charles Thompson
Third Darcey / Clive Bush
First Upstart / Robin Stevenson
Second Samurai J / Alan Macleod
First McFly / Tony Mack
Second Sweeny / Paul van Driel
Third JourneyMaker11 / Louise and Chris Makin and Jones
First Jukebox / John Smart
Second Jiraffe / Simon Perry
First J-Dream / David and Kirsty Apthorp
Second TIGRIS / Gavin Howe
Third Raging Bull / Tim Tolcher
Large IRC
First Davanti Tyres / Marie-Claude Heys
Second Jahmali / Michael Wallis
Small IRC
Second Jet / Jeff Johnstone
Third Jaywalker / Bob Baker
* Denotes Partial North Sails Inventory
  • #GoBeyond